About Cold Spring


General Information

The City of Cold Spring, population 6,353, was incorporated in 1941. The city is located in Campbell County, Kentucky approximately 8 miles south of Cincinnati, Ohio on US 27, occupying about 13.2 square miles. There is access to the City of Cold Spring by several major expressways, I-71/75, I-275 and I-471. The city is approximately 16 miles from the Northern Kentucky/Greater Cincinnati Airport. Cold Spring is a fifth class city with a Mayor/Council (six total council members) form of government, which has non-partisan elections. There are four voting precincts situated in the 68th House District, the 24th Senatorial District and the 4th Congressional District.


The City of Cold Spring was officially incorporated in March 1941, however, the name evolved from a natural cold water spring located in the area that was discovered in the 1780’s. It is rumored that Daniel Boone acquired 500 acres in the area in return for his Revolutionary War Service, and that the spring had been discovered when he sold the land in 1785. The spring has been described as a natural u-shaped rock formation that was located in what is now the area behind the Ameristop center on US 27. Several other rumors exist as to the exact location, however the majority of reports support the Ameristop location. The land was originally Kentucky County, Virginia before division into Jefferson, Lincoln, and Fayette counties on November 1, 1780. Six additional counties were created before Kentucky became a state in 1792. When Campbell County was created in 1794, land was taken from Harrison, Mason and Scott counties.

More History

Meetings & Events

July 22
- Council Meeting @ 7:30pm

July 25
- Concert: StrangeLove 7pm-9:30pm






Mail Applications To:

Mayor D. Angelo Penque
City of Cold Spring
5694 East Alexandria Pike
Cold Spring, KY 41076

Download Employment Application


City Building                859.441.9604
Police Department     859.441.6289